2017 Handicap International and Jury

Selection, films, debates,...

Handicap International's Jury

Dr Jean-Baptiste Richardier
© J-J. Bernard Handicap Internat.

Dr Jean-Baptiste Richardier

Jury President

Doctor by training, Jean-Baptiste Richardier launched the foundation of Handicap International with his friend and...

Read more

Jury President

Doctor by training, Jean-Baptiste Richardier launched the foundation of Handicap International with his friend and colleague Dr. Claude Simonnot in 1982. As they were outraged by the fate of thousands of Cambodian refugees that were amputated due to the explosion of anti-personnel landmines, the two doctors decided to rally by building prostheses for the victims.

For over 30 years, Jean-Baptiste Richardier spread the action of Handicap International worldwide. He notably highly contributed to the commitment of the organisation against anti-personnel landmines, a battle for which the NGO received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1997.

Successively holding the position of communication and development manager as well as landmines department manager before becoming the director general of Handicap International in 2003, he went into retirement in 2016 but keeps a role on the board of directors.

Pascal Plisson

Pascal Plisson

Pascal Plisson is a film director, scriptwriter and author, but first and foremost, he’s passionate about travels and adventures. He...

Read more

Pascal Plisson is a film director, scriptwriter and author, but first and foremost, he’s passionate about travels and adventures. He directed his first feature film Massaï, les guerriers de la pluie (Maasai, the rainwarriors) in Africa in 2003.

Sur le chemin de l’école (On the way to school), his second feature film, won the César award for Best Documentary in 2014. This story about four children from India, Kenya, Morocco and Argentina facing many obstacles on their long and tiring way to school moved the entire world.

Adda Abdelli

Adda Abdelli

Adda Abdelli is an author and comedian born in Algeria in 1967. He contracted a disability on both legs after...

Read more

Adda Abdelli is an author and comedian born in Algeria in 1967. He contracted a disability on both legs after catching polio when he was only one year old.

He’s the co-creator and co-writer of the successful French series Vestiaires (Locker rooms), which breaks taboos by showing disabled and uninhibited actors in a municipal swimming pool.

In 2017 he wrote Comme sur des roulettes as a way to talk about his disability, always humorously.

Anthony Lemke

Anthony Lemke

Actor Anthomy Lemke has been an ambassador of Handicap International in Canada since November 2015. He participates in raising awareness...

Read more

Actor Anthomy Lemke has been an ambassador of Handicap International in Canada since November 2015. He participates in raising awareness amongst Canadians towards the goals, the work and the impact of the organisation worldwide.

In over 15 years, Lemke has done one role after another as a forefront actor in the Canadian film and TV industry and, more recently, as one of the main characters in the internationally successful show Dark Matter. Very much awaited, the third season was recently launched in Canada, in the USA and in more than 150 territories around the world, including France, Italy, the UK and Germany.

He played very important roles in many TV series such as The Listener, the awarded series 19-2, Lost Girl and Blue Mountain State. As a bilingual actor, he’s also one of the rare Canadian actors who found success as much in English speaking productions as in French ones. Les Hauts et les bas de Sophie Paquin, Mirador, Mémoires Vives and 30 Vies are all productions that have been praised by the public. Lemke has a degree in civil law and common law from the McGill University and currently lives with his family in Prince Edward County.

Nicolas Gabion

Nicolas Gabion

After studying engineering and getting a degree from the Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA) in Lyon, Gabion turned to...

Read more

After studying engineering and getting a degree from the Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA) in Lyon, Gabion turned to comedy and started training as an actor.

The public mostly knows him for his numerous roles on television (he can be seen in over 20 films and series, including French TV series Kaamelott by Alexandre Astier, in which he plays Knight Bohort, one of the main recurring characters), his artistic activities expanded towards many fronts.

In theatre, he plays under the guidance of many directors and was led to participate in many plays by great authors from the past (Chekhov, Shakespeare, Sophocles, Seneca the Younger, Choderlos de Laclos, Schnitzler, Brecht, Gogol, Corneille…) but also contemporary authors such as Englishman Jezz Butterworth or the American Ira Levin.

He’s also a scriptwriter (he collaborated in the writing of Kaamelott’s season 2 and is the author of The Fabulous, a feature film still in development) and a stage director (Le Sas by Michel Azama, Epopée Lubrique co-directed with Marion Aubert at the Centre Dramatique National of Montpellier).

Nick Spark

Nick Spark

Nick Spark is a writer and documentary-maker based in Los Angeles. He’s passionate about unconventional characters as well as the...

Read more

Nick Spark is a writer and documentary-maker based in Los Angeles. He’s passionate about unconventional characters as well as the too often neglected woman characters.

His film Right Footed about Jessica Cox, disability rights advocate, was projected in over 50 film festivals over the world and won 17 major awards, including Best Documentary in the Mirabile Dictu film festival of the Vatican, and Best Social Action film in the prestigious Hollywood Film Festival. Right Footed is now available on the National Geographic Channel in 83 countries and has been translated in many languages.

Nick also made apparitions in many TV and radio programmes to talk about his research. He has a Masters of Fine Arts degree from the University of Southern California's School of Cinema-Television as well as a degree in creative writing from the University of Arizona. As a student, he won two Emmy Awards for his documentaries, respectively while attending each of these two colleges.

Handicap International's Selection

HANDICAP INTERNATIONAL SELECTION

Mona by Lorena SOPI (Kosovo)

L'escargot by Arnaud JABOUIN (France)

Own world by Zhangeldy MOLDAKHMETOVL (Kazakhstan)

Children of God by Ahmed YASSIN (Iraq)

Thine eyes I love by Priscila GUEDES (France)

Kiff Jump by Philippe DJIVAS (Guyana/France)

Corey the Warrior by Isabelle DARLING (Australia)

Another Sunny Day by Tim HUEBSCHLE (Namibia)

Ansichtssache by Alexander ULLMANN (Germany)

Wine and eggs by Sertac BOZKURT (Turkey)

Birdy Wouaf Wouaf by Ayce KARTAL (France)

Contact us

Let's get to know each other!

If you want to support us in one way or another or be updated with our news, etc.

Be a part of the selection!

Take part in the festival. Sign in!

A jury of renowned professionals will award various prizes (short films, full-length films, documentaries, publicities and music videos)

Become a partner

For more information about our partners

The festival already has lots of prestigious support and partnerships. It's not too late to become one of them!
  • Our partners
  • Open Culture Foundation
  • Sous le haut patronage de Sophie Cluzel
  • Handicap International
  • Embassy of Brazil
  • The Gaumont Pathé! Cinemas
  • National Consultative Commission on Human Rights
  • The “Maison des Scénaristes” with WeFilmGood support the IFFD
  • Grand Lyon
  • France Télévisions
  • A Télérama event
  • Première magazine
  • Handirect magazine
  • Radio Aviva
  • Europe 1
  • Carrefour
  • Carrefour market
  • Partouche Group
  • Palm Beach Évènementiel
  • Antoine Pieriniglass sculptor
  • Caisse Epargne Languedoc Roussillon
  • Fondation Banque Populaire du Sud
  • 3.14

Handicap International 2017 et Jury

La sélection, les films, les débats…

Le Jury Handicap International

Dr Jean-Baptiste Richardier
© J-J. Bernard Handicap Internat.

Dr Jean-Baptiste Richardier

Président du jury

Docteur de formation, Jean-Baptiste Richardier est à l’origine de la création de Handicap International, qu’il...

Lire la suite

Président du jury

Docteur de formation, Jean-Baptiste Richardier est à l’origine de la création de Handicap International, qu’il a cofondée en 1982 avec son ami et collègue le Dr Claude Simonnot. Indignés par le sort de milliers de réfugiés cambodgiens amputés par l’explosion des mines antipersonnel, les deux médecins français ont décidé de se mobiliser en fabriquant des prothèses pour les victimes.

Pendant plus de 30 ans, Jean-Baptiste Richardier a développé les actions de Handicap International à l’international. Il a notamment contribué fortement à l’engagement de l’association contre les mines antipersonnel, un combat pour lequel l’ONG a reçu le Prix Nobel de la Paix en 1997.

Occupant successivement les postes de directeur de la communication et du développement, de responsable du département Mines, avant de devenir le directeur général de Handicap International en 2003, il a pris sa retraite en 2016, conservant un rôle au sein du conseil d’administration.

Pascal Plisson

Pascal Plisson

Réalisateur, scénariste et auteur, Pascal Plisson est avant tout un passionné de voyages et d’aventures. C’est en Afrique que son...

Lire la suite

Réalisateur, scénariste et auteur, Pascal Plisson est avant tout un passionné de voyages et d’aventures. C’est en Afrique que son premier long-métrage Massaï, les guerriers de la pluie voit le jour en 2003.

Sur le chemin de l’école, son deuxième long-métrage reçoit le César du meilleur documentaire en 2014. L’histoire de quatre enfants originaires d'Inde, du Kenya, du Maroc et d'Argentine, confrontés à de multiples embûches sur le chemin long et ardu de l'école a ému le monde entier.

Adda Abdelli

Adda Abdelli

Auteur et comédien né en Algérie en 1967, Adda Abdelli contracte un handicap aux deux jambes à la suite d’une...

Lire la suite

Auteur et comédien né en Algérie en 1967, Adda Abdelli contracte un handicap aux deux jambes à la suite d’une polio, alors qu’il n’est âgé que d’un an.

Il est le co-créateur et co-scénariste de la série à succès Vestiaires qui brise les tabous en mettant en scène des acteurs handicapés et décomplexés dans une piscine municipale.

En 2017 il écrit Comme sur des roulettes pour témoigner, toujours avec humour, de son handicap.

Anthony Lemke

Anthony Lemke

Ambassadeur de Handicap International Canada depuis novembre 2015, l'acteur Anthony Lemke participe à sensibiliser les Canadiens aux objectifs, au travail...

Lire la suite

Ambassadeur de Handicap International Canada depuis novembre 2015, l'acteur Anthony Lemke participe à sensibiliser les Canadiens aux objectifs, au travail et à l'impact de l’organisation dans le monde entier.

Lemke a cumulé les rôles lors d’une carrière qui s'étend sur plus de 15 ans en tant qu'acteur de premier plan dans l'industrie cinématographique et télévisuelle canadienne et, plus récemment, comme l'un des leaders de la série à succès internationale Dark Matter. Très attendue, la troisième saison a récemment été lancée au Canada, aux États-Unis et sur les écrans de plus de 150 territoires à travers le monde, dont la France, l'Italie, l'Angleterre et l'Allemagne.

Il a occupé des rôles importants dans de nombreuses séries télévisées, dont The Listener, la série primée 19-2, Lost Girl et Blue Mountain State. En tant qu'acteur bilingue, il est également l'un des rares Canadiens qui ont réussi à trouver du succès autant dans les productions en anglais qu’en français. Les hauts et les bas de Sophie Paquin, Mirador, Mémoires Vives et 30 Vies sont toutes des productions qui ont été primées du public. Lemke est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en droit civil et en droit commun de l'Université McGill et vit actuellement avec sa famille au Comté du Prince-Édouard.

Nicolas Gabion

Nicolas Gabion

Après des études d’ingénieur – il est diplômé de l’Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA) de Lyon – Nicolas Gabion...

Lire la suite

Après des études d’ingénieur – il est diplômé de l’Institut National des Sciences Appliquées (INSA) de Lyon – Nicolas Gabion se dirige vers la comédie et entame une formation de comédien.

Si son visage est connu du plus grand nombre pour ses rôles à la télévision (on peut le voir dans une vingtaine de téléfilms et séries, notamment Kaamelott réalisée par Alexandre Astier dans lequel il interprète le chevalier Bohort, un des principaux personnages récurrents), son activité artistique s’est déployée sur divers fronts.

Au théâtre, il joue sous la direction de nombreux metteurs en scène, ce parcours théâtral lʼamenant à jouer de grands auteurs du passé (Tchekhov, Shakespeare, Sophocle, Sénèque, Choderlos de Laclos, Schnitzler, Brecht, Gogol, Corneille…) mais également des auteurs contemporains tels que lʼanglais Jezz Butterworth ou lʼaméricain Ira Levin.

Il est également scénariste (il collabore à lʼécriture de la saison 2 de Kaamelott et est lʼauteur de The Fabulous, long-métrage en développement) et metteur en scène (Le Sas de Michel Azama, Epopée Lubrique de Marion Aubert dans une co-mise en scène au Centre Dramatique National de Montpellier).

Nick Spark

Nick Spark

Ecrivain et documentariste basé à Los Angeles avec une grande passion pour les personnages non conventionnels comme les héroïnes trop...

Lire la suite

Ecrivain et documentariste basé à Los Angeles avec une grande passion pour les personnages non conventionnels comme les héroïnes trop souvent négligées.

Son film Right Footed qui parle de Jessica Cox, avocate des droits des handicapés, a été projeté dans plus de 50 festivals de films à travers le monde et gagna 17 prix majeurs, dont le meilleur documentaire au festival du film de Mirabile Dictu au Vatican, et le meilleur Film d’action sociale au prestigieux festival du film d’Hollywood. Right Footed passe maintenant sur la chaine National Geographic de 83 pays et a été traduit dans de nombreuses langues.

Nick est aussi apparu dans de nombreux programmes télévisés et radio pour parler de ses recherches. Il est diplômé d’un master des beaux-arts de l’école d’art cinématographique de Californie et d’une licence en Fiction et Poésie de l’université d’Arizona. Il a gagné un Emmy Award dans ces deux universités en tant qu’étudiant diplômé pour ses films documentaires.

La Sélection Handicap International

SELECTION HANDICAP INTERNATIONAL

Mona de Lorena SOPI (Kosovo)

L'escargot d’Arnaud JABOUIN (France)

Own world de Zhangeldy MOLDAKHMETOVL (Kazakhstan)

Children of God d’Ahmed YASSIN (Irak)

Thine eyes I love de Priscila GUEDES (France)

Kiff Jump de Philippe DJIVAS (Guyane/France)

Corey the Warrior d’Isabelle DARLING (Australie)

Another Sunny Day de Tim HUEBSCHLE (Namibie)

Ansichtssache d’Alexander ULLMANN (Allemagne)

Wine and eggs de Sertac BOZKURT (Turquie)

Birdy Wouaf Wouaf, d’Ayce KARTAL (France)

Nous contacter

Et si nous faisions connaissance ?

Pour nous offrir votre soutien sous une forme ou une autre, être tenu au courant de l'actualité du festival, etc.

Participer à la sélection

Prenez part au festival. Inscrivez-vous !

Un jury de professionnels renommés décernera plusieurs prix (courts-métrages, longs-métrages, documentaires, publicitaires et clips musicaux)

Devenir partenaire

Pour tout savoir sur nos partenaires

Le festival bénéficie déja de nombreux soutiens et de partenaires prestigieux. Il n'est pas trop tard pour devenir partenaire vous aussi.
  • Nos partenaires
  • Open Culture Foundation
  • Sous le haut patronage de Sophie Cluzel
  • Handicap International
  • Ambassade du Brésil
  • Les Cinémas Gaumont Pathé!
  • Commission Nationale Consultative des Droits de l’Homme
  • La Maison des Scénaristes avec WeFilmGood soutient le FIFH
  • Grand Lyon
  • France Télévisions
  • Un événementTélérama
  • Le magazine Première
  • Le magazine Handirect
  • Radio Aviva
  • Europe 1
  • Carrefour
  • Carrefour market
  • Groupe Partouche
  • Palm Beach Évènementiel
  • Antoine Pierinisculpteur de verre
  • Caisse Epargne Languedoc Roussillon
  • Fondation Banque Populaire du Sud
  • 3.14